Minutes - ACTSSCA AGM 2014-15

Friday 29 August 2014, 7.30pm

Mezzanine level, City Labor Club, Petrie Plaza, Civic, ACT, 2601

The President opened the meeting at 7.30 pm

1. Attendance and Apologies

As per attached attendance sheet.

2. 2013-14 Audited Financial Report

The President noted that at 30 June 2013 the Association had \$10,143.95 in its bank account, and the 2013-14 financial result was a profit of \$1601.26.

The President spoke to the result and noted that as a consequence 2014-15 registration fees remain at \$750 per team.

The President also noted that advertising expenditure in 2014-15 will be lower than in 2013-14. In 2013-14 both online and print advertising were used to compare their effectiveness. In 2014-15 advertising is online only.

The President discussed reasons for maintaining a reserve in the bank account, noting that the Association cannot borrow and maintaining a reserve is the only risk management tool against unexpected increases in costs from season to season. In particular, the President noted that ground hire and insurance, the two biggest annual costs, are not known until after registrations are paid each year.

3. Elections

President – Angus Algie; Treasurer – Elliott Curley; Secretary – Steven O'Brien; OCM – Trim Chakrapani; OCM – James Traviss; OCM – Phillip Wynne; OCM – Paul Ticehurst; A Grade Coordinator – Ehsan Karim; B Grade Coordinator – Warren Blackshaw; C Grade Coordinator – Vern Amey; D Grade Coordinator – Rod Palmer

Members made a unanimous vote of thanks to Tony Carroll, retiring Treasurer, in recognition of his service to the Association over many years.

5. Revisions to Competition Handbook

The President invited motions to revise the Competition Handbook. No motions were raised.

6. Scheduling: long weekends

The President noted that three Sundays during the window allowed for the season by the ACT Sportsground Spring-Summer playing window fall on long weekends: 5 October 2014 (coincides with NRL grand final), 25 January 2015 (Australia Day), and 8 March 2015 (Canberra Day), and proposed that these Sundays be non-playing days.

The President noted that to accommodate this, each grade would have to play back-to-back Sundays once during the season.

Members resolved that 5 October 2014, 25 January 2015, and 8 March 2015 be non-playing days.

7. Scheduling: starting date after Christmas-New Year Break

Members resolved that the first playing weekend (A and C Grades) after the Christmas-New Year break be 11 January 2015.

8. Hiring of professional umpires for grand finals

The President noted that a professional umpire was hired for the A, B, C and D Grade grand finals for 2013-14. The President noted that appointing neutral, professional umpires for grand finals in the last four seasons has coincided with significantly fewer incidents in grand finals, and greater team satisfaction.

The Association resolved to seek the appointment of professional umpires for the grade grand finals for 2014-15 through an approach to the ACT Cricket Umpires Association.

The Association resolved to seek independent umpires from within the Association (but not from the same grade) for grade grand finals where an independent umpire cannot be sourced.

9. End of Season event date

The President noted that the end of season event will be held at 7.30pm Friday 20 March 2015 at a venue to be decided, i.e. the Friday after the grand finals.

10. Other Business

The President confirmed that the cricket ball for the 2014-15 season is the Kookaburra Tuff-Pitch, and noted that is available from around \$40 upwards from various retailers, and that teams are encouraged to shop around as many retailers will price match.

Members discussed what happens if there is rain on a match day. The President noted that under the rules of the competition a match that starts but is halted by weather is a draw. A match that does not start due to weather can be rescheduled to another day at the joint request of the Captains involved, provided the Grade Coordinator and President are informed of the washout on the same day the original fixture was scheduled.

Members discussed when to forfeit if a Captain believes a team cannot be assembled, and noted that at a minimum the forfeiting Captain should inform the opposition Captain as early as possible on match day so that teams are not left waiting at a ground with no one to play.

Members discussed preferred and non-preferred grounds, noting in particular that Gowrie and Kambah are not preferred venues, but that Isabella Plains and Bonython have recently been upgraded.

Members discussed what to do if teams playing earlier in the weekend have left a mess, noting that the Association has been fined by ACT Sportsgrounds on occasion for mess left by other teams. It

was recommended that where a mess is discovered before play starts that a photo be taken and sent to the Grade Coordinator. The President also advised that, provided it is safe to do so and the effort involved is not unreasonable, teams should put existing rubbish into bins to demonstrate to ACT Sportsgrounds that ACTSSCA remains a responsible ground user.

Members were reminded that taking glass onto grounds is strictly prohibited and may result in a forfeit loss under Rule 10 of the competition.

Members were reminded that umpires should not take mobile phones onto the field as they are there to umpire and not to read their phone.

11. Next meeting

7.30pm Friday 28 August 2015

The President closed the meeting at 8.30pm.

ACTSSCA AGM, 29 August 2014 – Attendance List

First name	Surname	Team
Steven	O'Brien	Polar Bears Cricket Club
Andrew	Lourigan	Polar Bears Cricket Club
Jason	Bishop	Polar Bears Cricket Club
Patrick	Chaffer	Wombats
Phil	Wynne	EC's XI
Vern	Amey	EC's XI
Elliott	Curley	EC's XI
David	Jones	Grass on the Wicket
Mark	Gillespie	Harbies
Aaron	Skillen	Harbies
Matt	Gill	Harbies
Kieran	Blackwell	Harbies
Rod	Palmer	CBRMY
Matt	Stege	CBRMY
Brett	Monger	Ferrets
Andrew	Thompson	Little Green Men
Ben	Dwyer	Little Green Men
Todd	Gillett	Little Green Men
Jason	Friend	Gentlemens CC
Cameron	Pietsch	Gentlemens CC
Andrew	Carter	Gentlemens CC
Tony	Carroll	Grumpy Old Men
James	Traviss	Grumpy Old Men
Lachlan	Monger	Via Braidwood Monks
Zac	Carrington	Via Braidwood Monks
Jake	Crough	Via Braidwood Monks
Angus	Algie	Tourists
Hamid	Khalidi	United Canberra Cricket Club
Ehsan	Karim	Tigers Sporting Club
Trim	Chakrapani	Trim's Mob
Paul	Ticehurst	Trim's Mob