Agenda – ACTSSCA AGM 2023

Friday 1 September 2023

Canberra Labor Club, 51 Chandler Street, Belconnen, ACT

Meeting opened at 7.40pm

1. Attendance

See Attachment A

2. 2022-23 Audited Financial Report

<u>Audited Financial Report</u>

The President tabled the Audited Financial Report and noted a profit of \$965.07 for the 2022-23 financial year, with \$23,944.80 in the bank account at 30 June 2022. The President noted current assets of \$32,935.88 on 1 September 2023 reflected collection of fees while ground charges are not yet due.

The President spoke to the result, noting that the Association's medium-term strategy is to spend down a previous windfall of approximately \$16,000 from the ACT Government not charging ground hire fees for season 2020-21 as a COVID relief measure. This gain will be expended over several years by keeping fees lower than required to break even until about the 2024-25 season.

Consistent with this strategy, the President noted that team fees were not increased for the 2023-24 season and that the Association expects to make a loss this year.

Motion to accept the Audited Financial Report

Moved: Elliott Curley (Treasurer)

Seconded: Angus Algie (President)

Motion passed unanimously

3. Elections (President, Secretary, Treasurer, 3 x Grade Coordinators, at least 4 Ordinary Committee Members)

President – Angus Algie, Treasurer – Elliott Curley, Secretary – Axel Mielens A Grade Coordinator – Ravi Nair, B Grade Coordinator – Greg Popple, C Grade Coordinator – Luke Kostava, Ordinary Committee Members – Brad Evans, Phillip Wynne, Nathan Lumley, Wal Murdoch, Vaughan Welch, Murray Woodford, Steven Fennell

4. Grading and start dates

The President noted that the competition would consist of three grades, and that significant regrading will be needed to fill each grade.

The President noted that the season will start for A Grade and C Grade on 8 October and for B Grade on 15 October. The President noted that the grading meeting would he held in the next couple of weeks.

- Scheduling: Christmas-New Year break
 The President noted 24 December and 31 December are not scheduled as playing Sundays.
- Scheduling: long weekends Canberra Day arrangements
 Canberra Day weekend (11 March 2024) will be held as a reserve day for
 Grand finals if any are washed out on 4 March 2024.
- Scheduling: dates for finals
 Semi-finals 25 February 2024, Grand finals 4 March 2024, reserve day
 March 2024.
- 8. Hiring of professional umpires for grand finals
 The President noted the Association successfully used the Last Man Stands panel for the 2022-23 grand finals, and that the Association will continue to hire professional umpires for grand finals, and also attempt to hire umpires for the semi-finals.

9. End of Season event date

The Secretary noted the Committee will discuss and agree date of end of season event, anticipated to be Friday 16 or 23 March 2024.

10. Player insurance

The President reminded members that all cricket associations using the Cricket Australia insurance scheme have been moved to a model in which individuals pay for their personal injury protection insurance. Insurance will be about \$25 a person and purchased through the PlayHQ website. This insurance will cover participation in any Cricket Australia-covered competition – in Canberra also at least the Grade cricket and City and Suburban competitions. If any players purchase insurance in connection with joining one of these other competitions they do not need to purchase it again through the ACTSSCA page on the PlayHQ website.

The President noted he would provide a link to purchase insurance in an email to team captains in the coming weeks, with captains to pass that email to their players.

11. Other Business:

Innings change over time

The President discussed the issue of matches running past 6.00pm and, following from discussion at the 2022 AGM, proposed extending to all grades trial rules intended to prevent matches running much past 6.00pm. **Rule 1:** The first innings is to be played to completion, with the length of the second innings to be the lesser of the maximum number of overs for the first innings, or the number of overs bowled in the first innings at the end of the over in play at 3.20pm.

Rule 2: For every 15 minutes of play lost in the first innings (excluding the

drinks break) the maximum number of overs in the first innings is reduced

by 3 overs.

Rule 3: If there is a break for weather after 6pm the match ends

immediately.

Moved: Angus Algie

Seconded: Brad Evans

Motion passed unanimously

LBW rule

The President reported on the results of voluntary moves by some D Grade

captains during the 2022-23 season to not use the LBW rule. The President

and representatives of Tourists noted that, in their view, not using the LBW

rule had not materially effected any results while leading to a more

pleasant playing experience. Several members then spoke to pros and cons

of not using the LBW rule.

The President reminded captains that they can, by mutual consent of both

captains on match day, choose not to apply the LBW rule to a match and

encouraged teams to trial doing so at least once during the 2023-24 season

to form their own views on the matter.

12. Door prize draw (6 x Tuffpitch cricket balls from Rebel Sport Woden)

Winners: Greg Popple, Jeewan Sitoula, Sebastian, Manish Jain, Vaughan

Welch, Hadi Noori

13. Next meeting – 7.00pm for 7.30pm start, Friday 6 September 2024

Meeting closed at 8.25 pm

4

ACTSSCA AGM, 1 September 2023 – Attendance List ***PLEASE PRINT IN ALL COLUMNS!!***

Team	First Name	Surname
HGBTA	Tim	Jopling
EC's XI	Phillip	Wynne
RUC Ravens	Vaughan	Welch
HGBTA	Tom	Dykes
RUC Ravens / EC's XI	Wal	Murdoch
Trim's Mob	Shea	Engelbrecht
Trim's Mob	Conor	McInnes
Trim's Mob	Keith	McInnes
Trim's Mob	Trim	Chakrapani
Trim's Mob	Steven	Fennell
Trim's Mob	Sai	Reddy
Trim's Mob	Devi	R
Tourists	Brad	Evans
Tourists	Dave	Croxford
Tourists	Angus	Algie
Tourists	Richard	Carruthers
Grumpy Old Men	Greg	Popple
Grumpy Old Men	Charlotte	Popple
Grumpy Old Men	Puneet	Rikhi
Grumpy Old Men	Sudipta	Dutta
Untitled	Reece	Hannett
Untitled	Cameron	Earle
Untitled	Mitchell	Swann
CMCC Tuskers	Ravi	Nair
CMCC Tuskers	Rohith	Radhakrishnan
CMCC Tuskers	Sebastian	Regulation
CMCC All Stars	Anoop	Kumar
Canberra Tigers	Greg	Johnson
Canberra Tigers	Vaibhav	Gole
Canberra Tigers	Murray	Woodford
Pumpin Booty	Dave	Sankey
Pumpin Booty	Natalie	Duke
Canberra Tigers	Avinash	Patharkar
Canberra Tigers	Manish	Jain
Canberra Tigers / AFP Castoffs	Ganesh	Kasar
Brothers United CC	Roman	Shrastha
Brothers United CC	Dipta	Rizal
Brothers United CC	Jeewan	Stoula
Brothers United CC	Bhagiram	Dahal
Brothers United CC	Sandeep	Dhakal
Brothers United CC	Kishore	Nepal
Hazara Gliders	Asif	Sarabi
Hazara Gliders	Hodi	Zaher
Hazara Gliders	Hodi	Noori
Hazara Gliders	Dave	Gulzari

Team	First Name	Surname
Hazara Gliders	Mehdi	Qamari
Hazara Gliders	Irfan	Haider
Hazara Gliders	Rohullah	Irfany
Hazara Gliders	Ismail	Hussaini
Haraza Gliders	Danyal	Butt
Hazara Gliders	Shane	Campion
Ferrets Cricket	Nathan	Lumley
Untitled	Ferdous	Al-Mamoon
Untitled	Adnan	Anwar